1 Simple Shift You Can Do to Boost Incomes of Rural Women

I used to take pride in my haggling skills. I would move from one vendor to another just to get a discount. The bigger the price slash, the more successful I feel. Success in this matter, big or small is  addictive. I only came to my senses when I began to ask myself, “If I were to produce this product myself, how much will I charge?” The answer is many times over its prevailing price in the public market.

It occurs that farmers, both women and men, do not pay themselves for the labor they put in food production. And when they do, the amount is below the liveable minimum wage. The  same is true with  fisherfolks, weavers, flower growers, backyard vegetable farmers. This is one of the reasons why the rural sector in the Philippines are in a state of perpetual poverty.

Consider this. It takes more than 15 steps and 7 days to make one (1) unit of  mat. If we pay their time from harvesting of reeds to weaving, a piece of mat (banig in Filipino) can actually cost nearly a thousand pesos. And yet we want to get them at Php 150.00 or barely $ 4 USD a piece?

The next time you go to the market, be prepared to pay for the right price. Don’t haggle for the price of a kilo of eggplant or fish, a piece of  handmade mat or softbroom, a bunch of flowers or bananas. They were most likely produced by women and men  who toiled for days under the scorching  heat of the sun just to produce one (1) unit of the product.

This is just one small step. What else can we do to help improve incomes in the rural areas? Please join the discussion.

Tweet your ideas to @BlousesnCauses.

Is this post useful? If yes, please share it with your friends.

9 thoughts on “1 Simple Shift You Can Do to Boost Incomes of Rural Women

  1. Hello there! This post could not be written any better! Reading through this post reminds me of my previous roommate! He always kept preaching about this. I will forward this article to him. Fairly certain he will have a great read. Thanks for sharing!

    • We all need to be reminded to value the work of rural women and men. And we can do this by paying them fairly for their labor to produce the goods that help us survive in the city. THanks for visiting.

  2. My father would always tell my mom not to haggle over on prices with vendors. Reading this article and being reminded of this fact once again, I just thought the next time I buy, I will tip them instead.

    • that’s a good idea. If we give tips to waiters and hotel staff who are already receiving a good day’s salary, why not the small vendors who barely includes the cost of their labor in pricing their product?

  3. Me often for you to blogs and that i actually value your articles. This great article has actually peaks my attention. My goal is to bookmark your site as well as preserve checking for brand spanking new info.

  4. Pingback: 8 Healthy Ways to Your Man and Kids’ Heart | women champion online

  5. The article reminds me of a hometown friend who takes pride of getting the best price of sampaguita at Baclaran when we do our weekly devotion. I reminded him that he is the most affluent in our group and to spare the children, women and poor vendor to earn from him a little that he is not at the plush hotel negotiating a multi-million transaction.

Leave a Reply

